Rajasthan Royals lose 4th consecutive IPL match: Punjab defeated by 5 wickets; Sam Curran’s half-century and 2 wickets

Captain Sam Curran Leads Punjab Kings to Victory
Image Courtesy: Indian Premier League

Captain Sam Curran Leads Punjab Kings to Victory

Captain Sam Karan scored a brilliant half-century. On this strength, Punjab Kings have won over Rajasthan Royals by 5 wickets. In the 65th match of the 17th season of the IPL, Punjab Kings have won by 5 wickets against Rajasthan Royals. Rajasthan Royals challenged Punjab Kings to 145 runs for victory.

Punjab completed this challenge by keeping 7 balls and losing 5 wickets. Punjab scored 145 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 18.5 overs. Captain Sam Karan was the hero of Punjab’s win. In the end, both Jitesh Sharma and Ashutosh Sharma provided good support. This was Punjab’s fifth overall win of the season. This was Rajasthan’s fourth defeat in a row.

Punjab Kings’ Batting Dominance

Sam Karan and Ashutosh Sharma led Punjab to victory. The pair returned unbeaten. Sam scored an unbeaten 63 off 41 balls with the help of 5 fours and 3 sixes. Ashutosh scored 17 runs not out. Before that, Jitesh Sharma contributed 22 runs. Shashank Singh could not even crack a pumpkin. Riley Russo added 22 runs. Jonny Bairstow contributed 14 runs. While Prabhasimran Singh took the road outside the field after scoring 6 runs. Yuzvendra Chahal and Avesh Khan took 2 wickets each for Rajasthan. Trent Boult lost 1 wicket.

Join MyFinal11 WhatsApp Community

Rajasthan Royals’ Struggle and Punjab’s Bowling Brilliance

Before that, Rajasthan won the toss and decided to bat. But Rajasthan failed to reach 150 for the second time in a row. Yashasvi Jaiswal 4, Captain Sanju Samson, and Tom Kolhar Cadmore both scored 18 runs each. R Ashwin contributed 28 runs. But after that, when the innings of Rajasthan were thundering, Rian Parag kept the shame of Rajasthan. Ryan scored 48 runs off 34 balls. So Rajasthan could reach 144 runs after losing 9 wickets in 20 overs. The trio of Sam Karan, Harshal Patel, and Rahul Chahar took 2 wickets each for Punjab. While Arshdeep Singh and Nathan Ellis both took 1 wicket each.

Punjab Kings Playing XI: Sam Karan (Captain), Prabhasimran Singh, Jonny Bairstow, Riley Rosso, Shashank Singh, Jitesh Sharma (Wicketkeeper), Harpreet Brar, Harshal Patel, Nathan Ellis, Rahul Chahar and Arshdeep Singh.

Rajasthan Royals Playing XI: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson (Captain & Wicketkeeper), Rian Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Sandeep Sharma, Avesh Khan and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Read Also: IPL 2024 Ticket Pricing and Availability for Playoff Matches