RCB vs RR: RCB missed Qualifier 2 round, lost to Rajasthan by 4 wickets

RCB's Title Hopes Dashed Again
Image Courtesy: X
Vision11 780x100

RCB’s Title Hopes Dashed Again

In the IPL 2024 eliminator round, Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) faced another heartbreak as they were defeated by Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 4 wickets. Despite a strong comeback in the league stages to secure a playoff spot, RCB’s inconsistent performance haunted them once more. Batting first, RCB managed to post a total of 172 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in their allotted 20 overs. Virat Kohli (33 off 24 balls), Rajat Patidar (34 off 22 balls), and Mahipal Lomror (32 off 17 balls) made notable contributions. However, the rest of the batting lineup failed to capitalize, and RCB could not set an imposing target.

RR’s Efficient Chase

Rajasthan Royals efficiently chased down the 173-run target, aided by RCB’s lackluster fielding and strategic bowling by RR’s key bowlers. Ravichandran Ashwin and Avesh Khan were instrumental in restricting RCB’s scoring, with Ashwin conceding only 19 runs in his 4 overs while taking 2 crucial wickets. Avesh Khan, despite being slightly expensive with 44 runs in his 4 overs, picked up 3 important wickets. Trent Boult, Sandeep Sharma, and Yuzvendra Chahal each took a wicket, ensuring RCB never settled into a comfortable rhythm.

Join MyFinal11 WhatsApp Community

The Road Ahead for RR and RCB:

With this victory, Rajasthan Royals advanced to the Qualifier 2 round, where they will face Sunrisers Hyderabad at Chennai’s Chepauk Stadium. The match will determine who reaches the final. On the other hand, RCB’s quest for their maiden IPL title remains unfulfilled for yet another season. As they look forward to IPL 2025, the team and its fans are left to reflect on what went wrong and how they can improve to finally break their title jinx. Despite the loss, individual performances like those of Kohli, Patidar, and Lomror provide a silver lining and hope for a better outcome in the future.

Playing XI of both teams

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI):  Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis (captain), Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Yash Dayal, Mohammad Siraj, Lockie Ferguson.

Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI):  Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper/captain), Rian Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.


  • Shubham Sangale

    A sports writer who loves covering different known and unknown stories in the field of sports. I have good knowledge about cricket and football. Follow my posts regularly and enjoy yourself.

    View all posts
Vision11 300x300