The first team to be eliminated from the T20 World Cup tournament had its Super 8 round dream shattered

Major Upsets Disrupt T20 World Cup Dynamics
Image Courtesy: Social Media
Vision11 780x100

Oman First to Be Eliminated from T20 World Cup

The T20 World Cup is progressing with intense competition as teams vie for a spot in the Super 8 round. Amid the fierce rivalry, Oman has become the first team to be officially eliminated from the tournament. Placed in Group B, Oman lost all three of their opening matches, making it impossible for them to advance further even if they win their remaining match. This elimination underscores the high stakes and unpredictability of the tournament, where the performance on unpredictable pitches has varied significantly.

Join MyFinal11 WhatsApp Community

Scotland Dominates Group B Match Against Oman

In a crucial Group B match, Scotland faced Oman, with the latter batting first and setting a target of 151 runs by scoring 150 for 7 in 20 overs. Scotland’s aggressive batting response saw them chase down the target in just 13.1 overs, with 41 balls to spare. This decisive victory not only secured two points for Scotland but also significantly boosted their net run rate, positioning them favorably for the Super 8 round. The comprehensive win over Oman highlighted Scotland’s strong form and strategic gameplay.

Implications for England and Group B Dynamics

The outcome of the Scotland-Oman match has complicated England’s path in the tournament. England, having played two matches with only one point, now faces increased pressure. Even if England wins their next two matches, they would still end up with five points, which might not be enough due to Scotland’s superior net run rate. The current standings create a challenging scenario for England as they compete against Australia, Namibia, and Scotland for a place in the Super 8 round. The high-stakes environment and the critical role of net run rate add an extra layer of complexity to the remaining matches in Group B.

Oman (Playing XI):
Naseem Khushi, Prateek Athawale (Wicketkeeper), Aqib Ilyas (Captain), Zeeshan Maqsood, Khalid Kail, Ayan Khan, Mehran Khan, Rafiullah, Shakeel Ahmed, Kalimullah, Bilal Khan

Scotland (Playing XI):
George Munsey, Michael Jones, Brandon McMullen, Richie Berrington (Captain), Matthew Cross (Wicketkeeper), Michael Leask, Chris Greaves, Mark Watt, Christopher Sole, Safyan Sharif, Brad Veal

Using Reference Of: 

  1. tv9 Marathi

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.


  • Shubham Sangale

    A sports writer who loves covering different known and unknown stories in the field of sports. I have good knowledge about cricket and football. Follow my posts regularly and enjoy yourself.

    View all posts
Vision11 300x300