Will the trophy wait end this year?: Team India played 10 ICC tournaments since 2013; Lost 5 finals, 4 semi-finals

India's Journey in ICC Tournaments

India’s Journey in ICC Tournaments

Since 2013, India has consistently reached the knockout stages of ICC tournaments, making it 10 times out of 11 appearances. Despite this impressive record, India has not won an ICC trophy since 2014. Their last major success in the T20 World Cup was in 2007, and they haven’t won the ODI World Cup since 2011. The team last lifted the Champions Trophy in 2013, and they have reached the final of the World Test Championship twice, in 2021 and 2023, but lost both times.

Missed Opportunities in T20 and ODI World Cups

In the T20 World Cup, India has reached the knockout stages multiple times since their 2007 victory. They made it to the final in 2014 but lost to Sri Lanka. In 2016, they were defeated by the West Indies in the semi-finals, and in 2022, England knocked them out in the semi-finals. For the ODI World Cup, India won in 2011 but has faced defeats in the knockout stages in subsequent tournaments, including a loss to Australia in the 2015 semi-finals and to New Zealand in the 2019 semi-finals. In 2023, they made it to the final but were defeated by Australia.

Join MyFinal11 WhatsApp Community

Challenges in Winning ICC Trophies

India’s consistent performance in reaching the knockout stages highlights the team’s strength. However, they have struggled to clinch the title in the final stages. Sports psychologists suggest that pressure in big matches can negatively impact performance. The focus often shifts to the result rather than the process, leading to a “fear of failure.” This mental block has been a significant factor in India’s repeated failures in knockout matches.

Read Also: What Happens If  IND vs ENG  Match Is Washed Out?

Leadership and Mental Toughness

Under MS Dhoni’s captaincy, India won three ICC trophies: the 2007 T20 World Cup, the 2011 ODI World Cup, and the 2013 Champions Trophy. Dhoni’s focus on action and process over results played a crucial role in these victories. In contrast, under the leadership of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, the team has yet to secure an ICC trophy. Mental coaches emphasize that players must focus on the process and stay calm under pressure to overcome the fear of failure and perform at their best in crucial matches.

Using Reference Of: 

1. Tv9 Marathi News

MyFinal11 Pro Fantasy Guide